Once again, I’m getting married March 28th and it is interesting to hear some of the questions that people ask me about this up and coming event. How is the wedding planning going? Where are you going to live? Is your wife going to work? How long was the engagement? And the list goes on, but there is one question that has been bothering me. Actually, it has got me quite angry to the point where I am going to punch the next person who asks it, even if its a girl, jk, not that angry. The question is “Are you going to use birth control?” Or some form of that question.

This question most often comes from Christians given the obvious assumption that the Bible teaches that sex before marriage is rebellion against the Creator. Those that ask the question know that sex will begin to happen when I get married, thank you Jesus! But they also know that when you have sex, you get babies, unless you do something to “control” God’s design. Well, if you’re wondering what me and my wonderful fiance, Audrey, are planning to do about this it is to control the birth by doing everything we can to make sure a birth occurs!

I have thought a lot about all this, more than most people “Christian” I think. I don’t mean that in a prideful way, but when I respond to them, they seem to look pretty foolish from my perspective. The other day I heard a great discussion about this topic on Dr. Albert Mohler’s Radio program. Dr. Russell Moore, Dean of the School of Theology at Southern was filling in for him and the title of the show was “Encouraging the Blessing of Children.” Here is description of the show:

Do Christians view children and families as a blessing from the Lord? Or have we, like the culture around us, bought into the idea that children are just another ‘lifestyle option’ for married couples? On today’s program, guest host Russell Moore welcomes Steve Watters to the program. Steve and Candice Watters are the authors of Start Your Family: Inspiration for Having Babies.

I would challenge you to listen to it, since both of the men on the program at one time did not see things they way they do now. They share some of their previous reasoning and shame. I would also love to know what you think about this issue. I’ll be honest I have been “warned” and encouraged not to have children right away by almost every Christian whom I have spoken with. Do you think I’m crazy too? Do you think I’m getting of the narrow path?

